The esplanade of the castle is a place of recreation, much-loved by local inhabitants for its panorama of the Jura and the Alps, its playground and its numerous benches. The Round Tower dates from 1233 and open to the public, offers breathtaking views of the rooftops and Mont Blanc.
The lords of Montfaucon owned the town of Orbe from 1168 to the end of the 16th century. They built the castle with three towers and a circular keep, the present round tower. The city also retained their coat of arms “Gules, two bends sinister addorsed Or”
In 1835 the town ordered the demolition of the two square towers in order to fill the moats and to extend the terrace. The ancient perimeter walls were lowered in order not to block the view.
Today, the round Tower and a square tower are the sole remains of this fortress. The esplanade shaded by the tall chestnut trees has become a much-loved recreational area.
The round Tower is open to the public all year round. Explanatory panels at the foot of the edifice and inside provide information on the structure.
Round Tower access
- CHF 2.-