Regional products

Tête de Moine AOP

Tête de Moine AOP is a cheese with a tradition dating back many centuries and owes its origin in Bellelay. The cheese is cut into very thin rosettes with a “girolle”.

Tête de Moine cheese maturing at the Fromagerie Spielhofer in Saint-Imier
Tête de Moine cheese maturing at the Fromagerie Spielhofer in Saint-Imier. © Switzerland Tourism / Ben Zurbriggen
A unique flavour born of a long tradition
Eating a Tête de Moine AOP is an art in itself. This cheese is not cut into pieces but is shaved; in the past this was done with a knife but nowadays a girolle is used. Legend has it that the monks of Bellelay Abbey shaved off the surface of the cheese with a knife when they wanted to eat the cheese in secret. At that time they noticed that its taste was even better when the cheese was eaten in the form of shavings. This method is now reproduced by the girolle; it heightens the flavour of the cheese and the rosettes melt in the mouth.
A high quality product, the Tête de Moine AOP is made using traditional methods in village cheese dairies. The cheese-makers use superior quality raw milk from cows which have grazed on meadows covered with mountain grasses. The cheese is then matured for at least 75 days on spruce planks during which time it is brushed and turned at regular intervals.

Discover Tête de Moine AOP
If you ask at the Maison de la Tête de Moine AOP, you can watch the old-style method of making the cheese in a large copper vat, just as it was at the time of the monks. The guided tours of the cheese dairies in Noirmont, St-Imier and Saignelégier also enable the visitor to see the modern method of making Tête de Moine AOP.

The Hôtel du Soleil in Le Noirmont and the cheese factory of the Franches-Montagnes welcome you for a stay of relaxation and discovery in the land of Tête de Moine.



From CHF 168.00

Discover all the secrets of Tête de Moine production during an unforgettable stay in the heart of the Bernese Jura.



From CHF 252.00

Special offer

Sleep & Taste

Spend a night in the region and receive half a wheel of Tête de Moine!



More infos

Special offer

Swiss Cheese Passport

The Swiss Cheese Passport allows you to visit 5 Swiss demonstration cheese factories, including the Maison de la Tête de Moine in Bellelay, and to enjoy various discounts. The passport is available at the offices of Bernese Jura Tourism.



More infos

Cheese factory visits

Museum | From the farm to the cheese dairy

Museum | The Cheese Dairy Saignelégier was founded in 1995. With the new building our cheese specialists have...

Regional products | The Spielhofer cheese factory is a family business that produces, among other things, the famous Tête de Moine.

Museum | Museum, an old-fashioned cheese dairy, a cafe and a store selling local specialties revolving around Tête de Moine AOP cheese.

Regionale Produkte

Tête de Moine AOP

Die Geschichte des Tête de Moine AOP beginnt vor tausend Jahren in Bellelay. Er wird in hauchfeinen Rosetten serviert, die mit einem Gerät aus ihm herausgeschabt werden.

Käsereifung des Tête de Moine AOP in der Käserei Spielhofer in Saint-Imier
Käsereifung des Tête de Moine AOP in der Käserei Spielhofer in Saint-Imier. © Switzerland Tourism / Ben Zurbriggen
Besonderer Geschmack mit langer Tradition
Tête de Moine AOP geniesst man am besten auf eine ganz bestimmte Art: nämlich nicht in Scheiben oder Stücken wie bei anderen Käsesorten, sondern hauchdünn gehobelt. Der Legende nach geht dies auf die Mönche des Klosters Bellelay zurück, die einst mit einem Messer eine kleine Menge vom Käselaib für sich abschabten, damit niemand es bemerkte. Bald stellten sie fest, dass der Käse so noch viel besser schmeckte. Heute wird der Käse mit einer sogenannten Girolle bearbeitet. Die dabei entstehenden Rosetten zergehen auf der Zunge und sorgen für ein ganz besonderes Geschmackserlebnis.
Der hochwertige Tête de Moine AOP wird von Landkäsereien nach althergebrachten Verfahren produziert. Die verwendete Rohmilch ist von hoher Qualität und stammt von Kühen, die das aromatische Weidegras der Bergwiesen fressen. Die Käselaibe werden mindestens 75 Tage lang auf Tannenholzbrettern gelagert und bis zur Reife regelmässig abgebürstet und gewendet.

Einblicke in die Herstellung
Im Maison de la Tête de Moine AOP können Besucher nach Anmeldung zusehen, wie der Käse nach traditioneller Art der Mönche in einem grossen Kupferkessel hergestellt wird. In Käsereien in Le Noirmont, St-Imier und Saignelégier kann man zudem bei einer geführten Besichtigung erleben, wie der Tête de Moine AOP mit modernen Methoden produziert wird.

Das Hôtel du Soleil in Le Noirmont und die Freiberger Käserei empfangen Sie zu einem entspannenden und entdeckungsreichen Aufenthalt im Land der Tête de Moine.



Ab CHF 168.00

Entdecken Sie alle Geheimnisse der Tête de Moine-Produktion während eines unvergesslichen Aufenthalts im Herzen des Berner Juras.



Ab CHF 252.00

Sonderangebot

Schlafen & Geniessen

Übernachten Sie in unserer Region und bekommen Sie einen halben Käselaib Tête de Moine AOP CLASSIC!



Mehr Infos

Sonderangebot

Schweizer Käse Pass

Der Schweizer Käse Pass ermöglicht es Ihnen, 5 Schaukäsereien in der Schweiz zu besuchen, darunter das Maison de la Tête de Moine in Bellelay, und von verschiedenen Rabatten zu profitieren. Der Pass ist bei den Tourismusbüros des Berner Jura erhältlich.



Mehr Infos
   

Besichtigungen von Käsereien

Regionale Produkte | Die Käserei Spielhofer ist ein Familienunternehmen, das unter anderem den berühmten Tête de Moine produziert.

Museum | Museum, Käserei, Café und Shop rund um den berühmten Tête de Moine AOP.

Museum | Die 1995 gegründete Käserei Fromagerie de Saignelégier SA folgt den neuesten Marktbedürfnissen. Sie verbindet...

Museum | From the farm to the cheese dairy