WELCOME IN THE CANTON OF JURA. 

The Canton of Jura welcomes you in unspoilt natural surroundings.


SPORTS AND LEISURE

With its gently rolling hills and picturesque medieval towns, the region offers a plethora of sights to discover and is ideally suited for outdoor sports all year round. Golf, rock climbing, canoeing, scootering, horseback riding, cross-country skiing or mountain-biking – the Jura offers a wide range of activities in a spectacular natural setting. And if you prefer to discover these pristine surroundings at a more leisurely pace, over 1,000km of  signposted trails await you.


LAND OF HORSES

As the cradle of Switzerland’s only horse breed, the Freiberger or Franches-Montagnes, the Jura offers numerous horse activities: rides on horse-drawn carts, fondue carts and gourmet carts; visits to horse-breeding farms; covered wagons... Stay 2 nights or more in the region and get a free one-hour horseback ride !


CULTURE

Learn more about the Jura’s identity in all its diversity by partaking in various cultural activities. Many museums, classical and contemporary art galleries, open-air exhibitions such as “Balade de Séprais” and historic sites are there to satisfy your curiosity. For example, did you know that the Jura boasts the largest density of modern church windows in Western Europe?
And for lovers of old stonework, the Jura towns with their well-preserved centres are well worth a detour, whether it’s DelémontPorrentruy or the medieval town of St-Ursanne, also called "Pearl of the Doubs". 


WATCHMAKING

With the Jura being considered the cradle of the watchmaking industry, make the most of your stay by visiting several museums dedicated to the subject of time: Espace Paysan Horloger, a museum that retraces the history and beginnings of modern watchmaking, the Museum of Watchcases or the Fondation Horlogère. You can even attend a workshop where you learn how to assemble your own watch, which you can then take home with you.


EVENTS

Given the canton’s small size, you will encounter a friendly, rural feel everywhere and you will be welcomed with open arms. Immerse yourself in a world of traditions by participating in one of the many events that are held throughout the year. Put on your finest costume for the Carnaval du Jura, take part in a Saint-Martin’s feast, travel back in time at the “Les Médiévales” festival in Saint-Ursanne or visit the Marché-Concours de Saignelégier and enjoy the unique atmosphere of a horse show. 


FREE PUBLIC TRANSPORT

Spend one or more nights in the region and with your JURA-PASS enjoy free public transport as well as discounts on many activities!
 
Jura Road, Etang de la Gruère ©Jonathan Fuchs

St-Ursanne ©Reto Duriet

Doubs ©Alain Perret

Castle of Porrentruy ©Martin Trouillat

Horse "Franches-Montagnes" ©Vincent Bourrut www.vincentbourrut.ch

Delémont ©Reto Duriet

BIENVENUE DANS LE CANTON DU JURA.

Le Canton du Jura vous accueille au cœur d’une nature préservée.


SPORTS ET LOISIRS

Avec ses paysages vallonnés, parsemés de petites bourgades historiques, la région offre pléthore de découvertes et se prête particulièrement bien à la pratique des sports en plein air, tout au long de l’année et au rythme de chacun. Du golf à l'escalade sportive en passant par le canoë, la trottinette, l'équitation, le ski de fond ou le VTT, le Jura offre un panel d’activités variées dans un environnement grandiose. Si vous préférez prendre le temps de découvrir cette nature à l'état pur, sachez que plus de 1’000 km de sentiers pédestres balisés vous attendent.


PAYS DU CHEVAL

Berceau de l'unique race chevaline originaire de Suisse - le franches-montagnes - le Jura propose de nombreuses activités en lien avec le cheval; balades en char attelé, chars-fondue et chars-gourmands, visites d'élevages, roulottes... et à partir de 2 nuits dans la région,la balade à cheval d'une heure est gratuite !


CULTURE

Vous pouvez également profiter de faire la connaissance de l’identité jurassienne et de ses diversités au travers d’activités culturelles diverses. De nombreux musées, des galeries d'art ancien ou contemporain, des expositions en plein air comme la Balade de Séprais ou encore des sites historiques sont là pour satisfaire votre soif de connaissances. Saviez-vous par exemple que le Jura regroupait la plus forte concentration de vitraux d'art moderned'Europe de l'Ouest?
Et pour les amoureux des vieilles pierres, les petites villes jurassiennes aux centres anciens préservés valent également le détour, que ce soit Delémont, Porrentruy ou la cité médiévale de St-Ursanne, aussi surnommée la "Perle du Doubs". 


HORLOGERIE

Le Jura étant le berceau de l’horlogerie, profitez de votre séjour pour découvrir les musées sur le thème du temps; à l’Espace Paysan Horloger, musée qui retrace l’histoire et les prémices de l’horlogerie moderne, au Musée de la boîte de montre ou encore à la Fondation horlogère. Il est même possible de participer à des ateliers afin de monter vous-même votre propre montre et de la ramener avec vous.


ÉVÉNEMENTS
 
Grâce à la petite taille du Canton, vous retrouvez partout une ambiance villageoise conviviale et vous serez accueillis à bras ouverts. Immiscez-vous au cœur des traditions en participant à l’un des nombreux événements organisés tout au long de l'année. Revêtez votre plus beau costume lors du Carnaval du Jura, participez au copieux repas de Saint-Martin, faites un bond dans le temps aux Médiévales de Saint-Ursanne, ou laissez-vous charmer par l’ambiance équestre du Marché-Concours de Saignelégier.


TRANSPORTS PUBLICS GRATUITS

A partir d'une nuit dans la région, bénéficiez grâce au JURA-PASS de la gratuité des transports publics et de réductions sur de nombreuses activités !
Jonathan Fuchs
Reto Duriet
Alain Perret
Martin Trouillat
Vincent Bourrut www.vincentbourrut.ch
Reto Duriet