Gastronomie et Vins

Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP

Vacherin Mont-d'Or
Vacherin Mont-d'Or. © Elise Heuberger

    A speciality of Vallée de Joux, Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP is a flavoursome soft cheese. Baked in the oven with garlic and a sprinkle of white wine, it’s irresistible. Every year in September, the Fête du Vacherin Mont-d’Or in Les Charbonnières kicks off the season for this winter cheese, recognised by its distinctive spruce box.

    Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP is a soft cheese from the Vallée de Joux, made using thermized milk and aged for 21 days. Each cheese is wrapped and packaged in a spruce box.

    Vacherin is made between September and the end of the winter, when the cows stop producing enough milk to make big cheeses. The milk used is from red-spotted breeds of cows and Montbéliardes which have grazed on pastures at an altitude of over 700 m within the AOP region.

    Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP has been sold by the Société de Laiterie des Charbonnières since 1865 and received many awards. One cheese weighs less than 3 kg and has a maximum diameter of 32 cm. Since 2003, it has benefited from the Appellation d'Origine Protégée label, guaranteeing where and how it is produced.

    Opening hours

    Opening hours

      Contact

      Contact
      Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP
      Open Google Maps

Gastronomie & Wein

Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP

Vacherin Mont-d'Or
Vacherin Mont-d'Or. © Elise Heuberger

    Der Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP ist eine aromatische Weichkäsespezialität des Vallée de Joux. Mit Knoblauch und einem Schuss Weisswein im Ofen gebacken ist er unwiderstehlich. Jedes Jahr im September läutet das Fest des Vacherin Mont-d'Or in Les Charbonnières die Saison des an seiner typischen Fichtenholzschachtel erkennbaren Winterkäses ein.

    Der Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP ist ein Weichkäse aus dem Vallée de Joux. Er wird aus thermisierter Kuhmilch hergestellt und 21 Tage gereift. Jeder Käse wird einzeln in einer Fichtenholzschachtel verpackt.

    Der Vacherin wird von September bis Winterende hergestellt, in einer Zeit also, in der die Kühe nicht mehr genug Milch geben, um grosse Käselaibe produzieren zu können. Die Milch stammt von Fleckvieh- und Montbéliard-Kühen, die im AOP-Gebiet auf Alpwiesen in über 700 m Höhe weiden.

    Der Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP wird seit 1865 von der Milchgenossenschaft in Les Charbonnières produziert und erhielt viele Preise. Ein Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP wiegt unter 3 kg und hat einen maximalen Durchmesser von 32 cm. Seit 2003 ist er als geschützte Ursprungsbezeichnung AOP eingetragen, die seine Herkunft und das Herstellungsverfahren garantiert.

    Öffnungszeiten

    Öffnungszeiten

      Kontakt

      Kontakt
      Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP
      Google Maps öffnen