Town

Tramelan

Tramelan
Tramelan. © Jura bernois Tourisme

    Watch-maker village or town in the countryside, Tramelan invites you to discover its built heritage, its workshop-living quarters, the stained-glass windows in the Temple and its church of St-Michel.

    A watchmaking village
    The past of Tramelan is marked by the development of the watchmaking industry. Several watchmaking companies had their headquarters here, and many of the inhabitants were what is known as "watchmaking peasants", who were both watchmakers and peasants during the summer months, and especially watchmakers during the snowy months. The Record Watch and the Unitas factory together employed 450 people in the early 1900s. The manufacturers in Tramelan showed remarkable initiative and imagination.


    A gateway to the Franches-Montagnes
    At an altitude of 1000 meters, the Franches-Montagnes form a plateau with an authentic landscape of wooded pastures. It is a paradise for nature lovers. Tramelan is one of the gateways to the Franches-Montagnes from the Bernese Jura. In the heart of the Franches-Montagnes, the Etang de la Gruère sits at the center of a peat bog, which is classified as a nature reserve.

    A ski resort
    The village of Tramelan is proud to have its own ski resort. With its two ski lifts and its babylift, the station can accommodate about 1'600 people per hour, on 5 slopes that total 12 kilometers of descent. A 3 kilometer long ski touring trail is also available on site. The resort is included in the Magic Pass.

    Good to know

    Good to know
      • The brochure "On foot" describes a walking tour of about 1 hour to discover this small town
      • It is available from the tourism offices
      • Possibility of guided tours

    Contact

    Contact

Stadt

Tramelan

Tramelan
Tramelan. © Jura bernois Tourisme

    Uhrendorf oder Stadt auf dem Land, Tramelan lädt zur Entdeckung seines gebauten Erbes, seiner Werkstattswohnungen, der Tempelskirchenfenster und seiner Kirche St-Michel ein.

    Ein Uhrmacherdorf
    Die Vergangenheit von Tramelan ist vom Aufschwung der Uhrenmacherei gekennzeichnet. Mehrere Uhrenmachereien hatten dort ihren Sitz, und viele der Einwohner waren früher als sogenannte paysans horlogers, als Uhrmacher und Bauern, tätig, denn sie haben im Sommer in der Landwirtschaft und in den Wintermonaten auch als Uhrmacher gearbeitet. Die Firma Record Watch und die Fabrik Unitas haben Anfang der 1900er Jahre zusammen 450 Personen beschäftigt. Die Hersteller aus Tramelan sind mit einem beachtlichen Engagement und viel Phantasie ans Werk gegangen.

    Ein Tor in die Freiberge
    Auf 1’000 m Höhe bilden die Freiberge ein Plateau mit einer authentischen Landschaft aus bewaldeten Weiden. Ein wahres Paradies für Naturliebhaber. Tramelan bildet einen der Zugänge aus dem Berner Jura in die Freiberge. Im Herzen der Freiberge thront der Moorsee Etang de la Gruère inmitten eines Torfmoors, das als Naturschutzgebiet ausgewiesen wurde.

    Eine Skistation
    Der Ort Tramelan ist stolz darauf, dass es eine eigene Skistation gibt. Mit den beiden Skiliften und dem Babylift kann die Anlage etwa 1’600 Personen in der Stunde auf 5 Pisten mit insgesamt 12 Kilometern Abfahrtstrecke begrüssen. Ebenso ist eine 3 km lange Piste für Ski-Wanderungen vorhanden. Die Skistation nimmt am Magic Pass teil.

    Gut zu wissen

    Gut zu wissen
      • Die Broschüre "Zu Fuss" erläutert einen Rundgang von ca. 1 Stunde durch diese kleine Stadt
      • Sie ist in den Tourismusbüros erhältlich
      • Möglichkeit von Führungen

    Kontakt

    Kontakt