Town

Moutier

Founded by St-Germain around 640 AD, Moutier has been known worldwide for over a century for its exceptional expertise in machine tool construction and for its religious and architectural heritage.

Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme
Between nature and industrial savoir-faire
Although surrounded by deep gorges and wild, unspoilt mountains, there is nothing isolated about Moutier. This small city of Moutier considers itself to be a major city when the subject is its heritage. With its administrative buildings, schools and colleges, parks and other ancient buildings, it is possible to see that the town once played an active role in writing history. Machine tools were born here, and the town remains a pioneer in the development of precision engineering. The Musée du Tour Automatique retraces the fascinating history and evolution of this field of engineering.

Gorgeous frescos and stained glass windows
Moutier shares the rich heritage of the glass-maker’s art which abounds in the Jura arc. The windows of the church of Notre-Dame de la Prévôté and the collegiate church of St Germain are made from an untold number of varied pieces of glass which admit a diffuse multi-coloured light.

Major gathering and events
Moutier enjoys a long tradition of major events of a regional, national or perhaps even global significance. It is home to the “Salon des moyens de production microtechniques”, (the Micro-engineering and Tools Exhibition), the Festival Stand’été, (a summer music, theatre and art festival), as well as all kinds of sporting events.
Add to my favorites
Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme
Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme
Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme

Highlights

Machine tools - inventions that revolutionized industry here and throughout the world.

A splendid villa that provides a convivial setting for novel art exhibitions.

Stained glass windows: an art that enhances light, opening up a gentle world of color.

Moutier, a small town with a historic and architectural heritage that is bound to fascinate.

Top events

  • Tuesday

    Congresses, Conferences, Courses, Seminars, Fairs

    -

    Moutier

Ville

Moutier

Fondée par St-Germain vers 640, Moutier est connue mondialement depuis plus d'un siècle pour son savoir-faire dans le domaine de la machine-outil et pour son patrimoine religieux et architectural.

Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme
Entre nature et savoir-faire
Entourée de gorges profondes et de montagnes avec une nature sauvage et préservée, Moutier n’a rien d’une ville isolée. La petite cité prévôtoise peut se prendre pour une grande lorsqu’il s’agit de vanter la richesse de son patrimoine. Entre bâtiments administratifs, collèges, parcs et autres bâtisses anciennes, on voit que la ville a pris une part active à l’écriture de l’histoire. C’est ici qu’est née la machine-outil et la ville est toujours une pionnière dans le développement de la mécanique de précision. Le Musée du Tour Automatique retrace de manière fascinante l’histoire de l’évolution de ce domaine.

Des fresques et vitraux de grande beauté
Moutier fait partie du riche patrimoine verrier de l’arc jurassien. Les fenêtres de l’église Notre-Dame de la Prévôté et de ceux de la Collégiale St-Germain sont faites d’une myriade de verres différents qui dispensent une lumière tamisée et colorée.

Des manifestations d’envergure
Moutier accueille de longue tradition de manifestations d’importance régionale, nationale voire mondiale : le SIAMS (salon des moyens de production microtechniques), le Festival Stand’été, autres rendez-vous sportifs,…
Ajouter à mes favoris
Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme
Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme
Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme
Moutier
Moutier. © Jura bernois Tourisme

Highlights

Le vitrail, un art qui magnifie la lumière et offre un monde de couleurs et de douceur.

Une villa magnifique et un environnement chaleureux, pour que vivent des événements originaux.

Moutier, petite cité au patrimoine historique et architectural tout à fait intéressant.

La machine-outil, un objet qui a révolutionné le secteur industriel, ici et partout dans le monde.

Top events

  • mardi

    Congrès, conférence, cours, foire

    SIAMS 2020

    Moutier