Town

Tavannes

Tavannes
Tavannes. © Jura bernois Tourisme

    Tavannes‘ architecture of the late 19th/beginning of the 20th century was strongly affected by the "Heimatstil" as well as the Art Nouveau style promoted by the art college of La Chaux de Fonds.

    A town marked by the watchmaking industry
    The traveler who passes through Tavannes has no idea of the rich industrial and urban heritage that this small town conceals. Its nickname, La Surprenante, was not given by chance. The visitor who walks along the village discovers a very interesting architectural, industrial and urban heritage. If the heritage of Tavannes is so rich, it is because the industrial boom, linked practically to a single company, the Tavannes Watch Co, led to a strong increase in the population and resulted in a considerable development in construction.

    A Roman history
    To the south of the village, the Pierre-Pertuis pass marks the region by its Roman history. While walking along the pass, the hiker follows the Roman road, built during the period of Emperor Marcus Aurelius, and sees the famous pierced stone of Pierre-Pertuis on his way. The path is embellished with four didactic panels that inform the hiker about the source of the Birs, the literature and history, the geology and the Roman road. Not far away is also the source of the Birs, which can be visited on request to the public utility services.

    Starting point for many excursions
    Surrounded by the Montoz and the Tanne plateau, the starting point of the Pierre-Pertuis pass, Tavannes is the ideal base for many excursions in the region. The Montoz is also a playground for mountain bikers looking for new challenges, with its steep slopes and flat summit.

    Good to know
    Good to know
      • The brochure "On foot" describes a walking tour of about 1 hour to discover this small town
      • It is available from the tourism offices
      • Possibility of guided tours
    Contact
    Contact

    Tips you might like - Guided city tour

    Guided tour through Tavannes

    Tavannes reveals its rich architectural, industrial and urban heritage during this surprising guided tour.



    More infos
    Tavannes

Ville

Tavannes

Tavannes
Tavannes. © Jura bernois Tourisme

    L'architecture de Tavannes de la fin du 19e et du début du 20e siècle est particulièrement marquée par le "Heimatstil" et le langage décoratif de style Art nouveau.

    Une ville marquée par l’industrie horlogère
    Le voyageur qui traverse Tavannes ne se doute pas du riche patrimoine industriel et urbain que recèle cette petite ville. Son surnom, La Surprenante, n’est pas dû au hasard. Le visiteur qui se balade le long du village découvre un patrimoine architectural, industriel et urbain fort intéressant. Si le patrimoine de Tavannes est si riche, c’est parce que l’essor industriel, lié pratiquement à une seule entreprise, la Tavannes Watch Co, entraîna une forte augmentation de la population et se traduisit par un développement considérable dans la construction.

    Une histoire romaine
    Au sud du village, le col de Pierre-Pertuis marque la région par son histoire romaine. En se baladant le long du col, le randonneur suit la voie romaine, aménagée durant la période de l’empereur Marc-Aurèle, et aperçoit sur son chemin la fameuse pierre percée du Pierre-Pertuis. Le sentier est agrémenté de quatre panneaux didactiques qui informent le randonneur sur la source de la Birse, la littérature et l’histoire, la géologie et la voie romaine. Non loin se trouve également la source de la Birse, visitable sur demande auprès du service des travaux publics.

    Point de départ de nombreuses excursions
    Entouré par le Montoz et le plateau de la Tanne, point de départ du col du Pierre-Pertuis, Tavannes est le pied-à-terre idéal pour de nombreuses excursions dans la région. Le Montoz est également un terrain de jeu pour les vététistes en quête de nouveaux défis, avec ses pentes raides et son sommet plat.

    Bon à savoir
    Bon à savoir
      • La brochure "A pied" permet de découvrir cette petite ville en 1 heure environ de promenade à pied
      • Document disponible à l'Offices du tourisme
      • Possibilité de réserver des visites guidées à l'Office du tourisme
    Ajouter à mes favoris
    Contact
    Contact

    Suggestion - Visite guidée

    Visite guidée, Tavannes

    Tavannes dévoile son riche patrimoine architectural, industriel et urbain lors de cette surprenante visite guidée.



    Plus d'infos
    Tavannes