Trekking

Sentier du patrimoine de Romainmôtier

Romainmôtier – Romainmôtier

  • Length
    • 13 km
    Length
  • Ascents | Descents
    • 400 m | 400 m
    Ascents | Descents
  • Duration
    • 3 h 40
    Duration
  • Technical | Fitness level
    • Sporty | Very easy
    Technical | Fitness level

The forces of Nature have wrought the landscapes of Nozon Valley, a preserved environment of natural and wild Middle-Age beauty. This trail is a combination of a hike in a natural environment and the discovery of local historical heritage.

You will discover varied biotopes along your way. Depending on the season, you will see the river banks covered with spring snowflakes or with bear's garlic. Bunches of box trees and lean oak trees grow on the rocks above the cliffs, conferring a Mediterranean look to the landscape.

Humans have left their mark in these wild forests throughout history: prehistoric stones with strange signs, ovens to reduce iron ore, limekilns, quarries to exploit ashlars or to make the magnificent fountain basins featured in the villages of the Lake Geneva Region.

Along the way you will discover a quarry where many basins of our region were made. You will also see vestiges of iron ovens and limekilns, as well as an engraved stone in a place called Les Gottettes. Back in Croy, don't miss the ancient public wash houses and fountains.

Good to know
Good to know
    • Signalization: Yellow signposts from Romainmôtier to Croy. The trail is signposted in yellow as "Sentier du Patrimoine".
    • Surface/foundation: The heritage trail is a circuit that can be started at any point deemed the most appropriate depending on your means of transport.Good walking shoes are essential because the trail can be very steep and the grounds often humid.
Characteristics
Characteristics
  • City start
    • Romainmôtier
    City end
    • Romainmôtier
    Height Difference
    • 400 m
    Height Difference Back
    • 400 m
    Hiking Time
    • 3 h 40
    Hiking Time Back
    • 3 h 40
    Technical requirements
    • Easy (Hiking Trail)
    Physical requirements
    • Easy
Related Routes
Related Routes
Contact
Contact
Romainmôtier Abbey Church
Romainmôtier - Romainmôtier
Romainmôtier - Romainmôtier
Download GPX

Culture and Heritage

Romainmôtier Abbey Church

One of the oldest Romanesque churches in Switzerland, the Abbatiale de Romainmôtier holds regular religious services and very popular concerts.



More infos
Abbatiale Romainmôtier

Randonnée

Sentier du patrimoine de Romainmôtier

Romainmôtier – Romainmôtier

  • Longueur
    • 13 km
    Longueur
  • Montées | Descentes
    • 400 m | 400 m
    Montées | Descentes
  • Durée
    • 3 h 40
    Durée
  • Technique | Condition
    • Sportive | Facile
    Technique | Condition

Les forces de la nature ont façonné les paysages du Vallon du Nozon qui ont conservé leur beauté naturelle et sauvage, leur allure moyenâgeuse. Ce sentier vous invite à une balade entre nature préservée et patrimoine historique à découvrir.

Au gré de votre balade, vous découvrirez des biotopes variés. Au fil de l’eau, suivant les saisons, vous foulerez des tapis de nivéoles ou d’ail des ours. Au-dessus des falaises, des touffes de buis et de chênes maigres affleurent la roche et donnent un air méditerranéen au paysage.

Tout au long de l’histoire, l’homme a laissé son empreinte dans ces forêts sauvages : pierres préhistoriques aux signes étranges, fours pour la réduction du minerai de fer, fours à chaux, carrières pour l’exploitation de pierres de taille ou pour en extraire les magnifiques bassins des fontaines de nos villages vaudois.

Au fil de l’itinéraire, vous découvrirez une carrière de fontaines d’où ont été tirés quantité de bassins de la région. Vous y verrez aussi les vestiges de fours à fer, four à chaux, ainsi qu’une pierre gravée au lieu dit les Gottettes. De retour à Croy, ne manquez pas les anciens lavoirs ainsi que les fontaines.

Bon à savoir
Bon à savoir
    • Signalisation: Balisage jaune depuis Romainmotier suivre Croy. Le sentier est balisé d’écriteaux jaunes marqués «Sentier du Patrimoine».
    • Revêtement/Substrat: Le sentier du patrimoine peut être abordé par l’endroit qui vous semble le plus approprié selon votre moyen de locomotion. Il est important de se munir de bonnes chaussures, le sentier est parfois escarpé et le terrain souvent humide.
Caractéristiques
Caractéristiques
  • Départ
    • Romainmôtier
    Arrivée
    • Romainmôtier
    Montées
    • 400 m
    Descentes
    • 400 m
    Temps de marche
    • 3 h 40
    Temps de marche sens inverse
    • 3 h 40
    Exigences techniques
    • Facile (chemin de randonnée)
    Exigences de condition physique
    • Facile
Itinéraires liés
Itinéraires liés
Contact
Contact
Abbatiale de Romainmôtier
Romainmôtier - Romainmôtier
Romainmôtier - Romainmôtier
Télécharger le GPX

Culture et Patrimoine

Abbatiale de Romainmôtier

Une des plus anciennes églises romanes de Suisse, l’Abbatiale de Romainmôtier accueille régulièrement des cultes et des concerts très courus.



Plus d'infos
Abbatiale de Romainmôtier