Gastronomy and Wines

Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP

Vacherin Mont-d'Or
Vacherin Mont-d'Or. © Elise Heuberger

    A winter delicacy to be eaten cold or baked in the oven, Vacherin Mont-d’Or is an emblematic cheese of the Vallée de Joux.

    A speciality of Vallée de Joux, Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP is a flavoursome soft cheese. Baked in the oven with garlic and a sprinkle of white wine, it’s irresistible. Every year in September, the Fête du Vacherin Mont-d’Or in Les Charbonnières kicks off the season for this winter cheese, recognised by its distinctive spruce box.

    Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP is a soft cheese from the Vallée de Joux, made using thermized milk and aged for 21 days. Each cheese is wrapped and packaged in a spruce box.

    Vacherin is made between September and the end of the winter, when the cows stop producing enough milk to make big cheeses. The milk used is from red-spotted breeds of cows and Montbéliardes which have grazed on pastures at an altitude of over 700 m within the AOP region.

    Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP has been sold by the Société de Laiterie des Charbonnières since 1865 and received many awards. One cheese weighs less than 3 kg and has a maximum diameter of 32 cm. Since 2003, it has benefited from the Appellation d'Origine Protégée label, guaranteeing where and how it is produced.

    Contact
    Contact
    Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP
    Open Google Maps

Gastronomie et Vins

Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP

Vacherin Mont-d'Or
Vacherin Mont-d'Or. © Elise Heuberger

    Spécialité de la Vallée de Joux, le Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP est un fromage à pâte molle de caractère. Agrémenté d’ail, arrosé de vin blanc et grillé au four, il est irrésistible. Chaque année en septembre, la Fête du Vacherin Mont-d’Or aux Charbonnières lance la saison de ce fromage d’hiver, reconnaissable à sa boîte en épicéa.

    Le Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP est un fromage à pâte molle de la Vallée de Joux. Il est fabriqué avec du lait thermisé, affiné pendant 21 jours. Chaque fromage est entouré et emballé d’une écorce d’épicéa.

    Le vacherin est fabriqué de septembre à la fin de l’hiver, une période où les vaches ne produisent plus assez de lait pour fabriquer de grands fromages. Le lait est issu de vaches type tachetées rouges et Montbéliardes ayant pâturé à plus de 700 m d’altitude au sein de la zone AOP.

    Le Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP est commercialisé depuis 1865 par la Société de Laiterie des Charbonnières et a reçu de nombreuses distinctions. Un Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP pèse moins de 3 kg, pour un diamètre de 32 cm maximum. Depuis 2003, il est labellisé Appellation d'Origine Protégée, qui garantit son lieu et sa méthode de fabrication.

    Horaires d'ouverture

    Horaires d'ouverture
      Ajouter à mes favoris
      © Claude Jaccard
      Vacherin Mont-d'Or
      Vacherin Mont-d'Or. © Ateliermamco.com

      Contact

      Contact
      Vacherin Mont-d’Or AOP
      Ouvrir avec Google Maps