Town

Tramelan

Tramelan
Tramelan. © Jura bernois Tourisme

    Watch-maker village or town in the countryside, Tramelan invites you to discover its built heritage, its workshop-living quarters, the stained-glass windows in the Temple and its church of St-Michel.

    A watchmaking village
    The past of Tramelan is marked by the development of the watchmaking industry. Several watchmaking companies had their headquarters here, and many of the inhabitants were what is known as "watchmaking peasants", who were both watchmakers and peasants during the summer months, and especially watchmakers during the snowy months. The Record Watch and the Unitas factory together employed 450 people in the early 1900s. The manufacturers in Tramelan showed remarkable initiative and imagination.


    A gateway to the Franches-Montagnes
    At an altitude of 1000 meters, the Franches-Montagnes form a plateau with an authentic landscape of wooded pastures. It is a paradise for nature lovers. Tramelan is one of the gateways to the Franches-Montagnes from the Bernese Jura. In the heart of the Franches-Montagnes, the Etang de la Gruère sits at the center of a peat bog, which is classified as a nature reserve.

    A ski resort
    The village of Tramelan is proud to have its own ski resort. With its two ski lifts and its babylift, the station can accommodate about 1'600 people per hour, on 5 slopes that total 12 kilometers of descent. A 3 kilometer long ski touring trail is also available on site. The resort is included in the Magic Pass.

    Good to know

    Good to know
      • The brochure "On foot" describes a walking tour of about 1 hour to discover this small town
      • It is available from the tourism offices
      • Possibility of guided tours

    Contact

    Contact

Ville

Tramelan

Tramelan
Tramelan. © Jura bernois Tourisme

    Village horloger ou ville à la campagne, Tramelan invite à la découverte de son patrimoine bâti, de ses habitations-ateliers, des vitraux dans le Temple et son Eglise St-Michel.

    Description :
    Un village horloger
    Le passé de Tramelan est marqué par l’essor de l’horlogerie. Plusieurs maisons horlogères y avaient leur siège, et les habitants étaient nombreux à être ce que l’on appelle les paysans horlogers.Ils étaient tout autant horlogers que paysans pendant la belle saison, et surtout horlogers durant les mois de neige. La Record Watch et la fabrique Unitas employaient à elles deux 450 personnes au début des années 1900. Les fabricants tramelots savaient faire preuve d‘un remarquable esprit d‘initiative et de beaucoup d‘imagination.

    Une porte vers les Franches-Montagnes
    A 1000 mètres d’altitude, les Franches-Montagnes forment un plateau au paysage authentique, composé de pâturages boisés. C'est le paradis des amoureux de la nature. Tramelan est l’une des portes d’entrée vers les Franches-Montagnes depuis le Jura bernois.Au cœur des Franches-Montagnes, l’Etang de la Gruère trône au centre d’une tourbière classée réserve naturelle.

    Une station de ski
    Le village de Tramelan est fier d’avoir sa propre station de ski. Avec ses deux téléskis et son babylift, la station peut accueillir environ 1’600 personnes par heure, sur 5 pistes qui totalisent 12 kilomètres de descente. Une piste de ski-rando de 3 kilomètres est également disponible sur place. La station est incluse dans le Magic Pass.

    Bon à savoir

    Bon à savoir
      • La brochure "A pied" permet de découvrir cette petite ville en 1 heure environ de promenade à pied
      • Document disponible à l'Offices du tourisme
      • Possibilité de réserver des visites guidées à l'Office du tourisme

    Contact

    Contact