VTT

Mont Tendre Bike - 996

Mont tendre Bike - 996
  • Length

    • 32 km
    Length
  • Ascents | Descents

    • 729 m | 730 m
    Ascents | Descents
  • Fitness level

    • Moderatly difficult
    Technical | Fitness level

The Mont Tendre Bike route is the ideal way to discover everything the Vallée de Joux has to offer. This circular route takes you through the foothills of Mont Tendre, the highest peak of the Swiss Jura, (1,680m), and returns along the south bank of Lac de Joux.
Please note, it is not allowed to ride this trail before 1 july.

Starting from the car park at the Centre Sportif Vallée de Joux in Le Sentier, you follow the path along the banks of the river Orbe until you get to the secondary road to the village of L'Orient which you follow for a few hundred metres. From here, you head right, onto the most challenging part of the route, a climb of 3km 600m. You'll quickly be rewarded by breathtaking views of Lac de Joux, until you arrive at the beautiful alpine pastures.
Then, through forest clearings and along single track gravel trails, you take Jura Bike No. 3 for 1,3 km until you get to the Chalet des Grandes Chaumilles. From here, continue in the direction of Chalet des Combes passing the Bois Carré mountain hut; ideal for a picnic stop! You then follow a straight route of about 5km through the meadows to the foot of Mont Tendre! Once you reach the high point of the trail (1,507m), you'll find the Bon accueil hut converted from an old bus!
From the Chalet du Mazel, it's an easy ride to Pré de l'Haut where you have a little climb to the Les Croisettes alpine cafe. The hardest part is over! From here, a fantastic single trail takes you back down to the village of L'Abbaye and the lake shore. You return via Groinroux along the lane overlooking the local road. As you enter Bioux, the trail heads down to the lakeside, passing the Ferme campsite, then the Altitude 1004 water sports centre. The last 2km are along the local road (the boardwalks along the reed beds are for pedestrians only), then you rejoin the initial path along the river bank.

Good to know

Good to know
    • IMPORANT:
    • It is not allowed to ride this trail before 1 July. The Vallée de Joux with its high mountain forests is home to many grouse, attracted by the remote mixed forests of this area. Being disturbed by human activity, during the winter and spring, is a significant aggravating factor in the falling numbers of this bird.

Links & PDFs

Links & PDFs
Add to my favorites
Mont Tendre Bike - 996
Mont Tendre Bike - 996. © D.CARLIER / davidcarlierphotography.com
996 - Mont Tendre Bike
996 - Mont Tendre Bike
Vallée de Joux Sports Center
Mont Tendre Bike - 996
Mont Tendre Bike - 996

The Vallée de Joux Sports Center is a quality sports center offering numerous sports activities year-round.



More infos
Centre Sportif

VTT

Mont Tendre Bike - 996

Mont tendre Bike - 996
  • Longueur

    • 32 km
    Longueur
  • Montées | Descentes

    • 729 m | 730 m
    Montées | Descentes
  • Condition

    • Moyen
    Technique | Condition

L'itinéraire Mont Tendre Bike vous propose de découvrir toute la diversité de la Vallée de Joux. Le parcours en boucle vous emmène sur les contreforts du plus haut sommet du Jura suisse, le Mont Tendre (1680m), et revient par la rive sud du Lac de Joux.
Pour des raisons de protection de la faune, il est demandé de ne pas emprunter le parcours avant le 1er juillet.

Du parking du Centre Sportif Vallée de Joux au Sentier, vous longez sur un chemin les rives de la rivière L'Orbe avant de rejoindre sur quelques centaines de mètres la route secondaire qui vous amène au village de L'Orient. De là, sur votre droite vous attaquez la principale difficulté à savoir une montée de 3km600. Vous serez vite récompensé par la vue plongeante sur le Lac de Joux, avant de gagner les pâturages sur les hauteurs.
De clairières en forêts, de chemins blancs en single trails vous rejoignez la Jura Bike N°3 que vous suivez sur 1,3 km pour rejoindre le Chalet des Grandes Chaumilles. De là, vous poursuivez en direction du Chalet des Combes en passant devant le refuge du Bois Carré, idéal pour une pause pique-nique ! S'en suit un tracé rectiligne d'environ 5km à travers les pâturages qui vous emmène au pied du Mont Tendre! Vous atteignez le point culminant du parcours 1'507m et découvrez le refuge Bon accueil, un ancien autobus!
Du Chalet du Mazel, vous gagnez facilement le Pré de l'Haut avant de reprendre en peu d'altitude pour rejoindre la buvette d'alpage des Croisettes. Le plus dur est fait ! Depuis là, un magnifique single trail vous permet de descendre en direction du village de L'Abbaye et de rejoindre le bord du lac. Le retour s'effectue par Groinroux sur la petite route qui surplombe la route cantonale. A l'entrée des Bioux, le parcours descend au bord du lac pour passer devant le camping à la Ferme, puis la base nautique Altitude 1004. Les derniers 2km s'effectuent sur la route cantonale (les passerelles qui longent la roselière sont réservées aux piétons) avant de rejoindre le chemin initial qui longe les rives de la rivière.

Bon à savoir

Bon à savoir
    • IMPORTANT:
    • Il est demandé de ne pas emprunter le parcours avant le 1er juillet. En effet, La Vallée de Joux compte bon nombre de Grand Tétras. Cette gallinacée typique des grands massifs forestiers d’altitude apprécie le calme et les forêts mixtes. Le dérangement humain, en période hivernale et printanière, est une cause aggravante importante de la diminution de ses effectifs.

Liens et PDFs

Liens et PDFs
Centre Sportif Vallée de Joux
Mont Tendre Bike - 996
Mont Tendre Bike - 996

Des infrastructures sportives de qualité pour la pratique de nombreux sports tout au long de l’année



Plus d'infos
Centre Sportif