Musées

Musée Baud

Musée Baud
Musée Baud. © F. Bertin
  • Place

    • L'Auberson
    Ort
  • Recommended Duration

    • 1 h 0
    Dauer

A few kilometres from Sainte-Croix, the music box capital, the village of L’Auberson is a delightful secret. It was here, in the Yverdon region, that the Baud brothers established their collection of automatons. A mechanical wonderland offering guided tours during weekends and every day in the summer.

The Musée Baud in L’Auberson was opened in 1955 by the Baud brothers, Frédy, Robert and Auguste, and has a collection of around sixty antique mechanical music exhibits, dating from 1750 to 1940, including music boxes, automatons and orchestrions.

The Baud brothers continue to work together in their precision mechanical workshop repairing large mechanical music devices. Passionately interested in any mechanical music device, including all kinds of automatons, they created a display of their collection in their stables and barn which were converted into a museum. Expertise and a musical ear are essential to identify the missing notes on a mechanical roller and their talent for mechanical devices is known far and wide. Even today people come from all over the world with rare pieces for them to repair.

The registration on the UNESCO list since the 16th of December 2020 highlights an iconic living tradition of the French-Swiss Jura Arc. This registration finds particular resonance in the region of Sainte-Croix/L'Auberson, the only place that brings together music boxes as well as automatons and watchmaking. The application submitted by Switzerland in collaboration with France was considered exemplary by UNESCO for its demonstration of the importance of intangible cultural heritage in a cross-border space.

Prices

Prices
  • Individual

    Adult

    • CHF 12.-
  • Child

    • CHF 6.-
  • Groups (from 20 pers.)

    • CHF 10.-

Good to know

Good to know
    • Duration of the visit is about 1 hour, all visits are guided (no prior registration, except for groups, no fixed visiting time).
    • Guided tours are at 2 pm and 3.30 pm
    • Open on request from 10 adults.

Access

Zugang

Contact

Contact
Musée Baud
Open Google Maps

Musées

Musée Baud

Musée Baud
Musée Baud. © F. Bertin
  • Lieu

    • L'Auberson
    Ort
  • Durée conseillée

    • 1 h 0
    Dauer

Situé à quelques kilomètres de Sainte-Croix, capitale de la boîte à musique, le village de L’Auberson recèle des trésors. C’est là, dans la Région d’Yverdon, que les frères Baud ont installé leur collection d’automates. Une féérie mécanique à visiter avec un guide le week-end ou tous les jours d’été.

Le Musée Baud de l’Auberson voit le jour en 1955 à l’initiative des frères Frédy, Robert et Auguste Baud. Il présente une collection d’une soixantaine de pièces de musique mécanique ancienne, datant de 1750 à 1940 : boîtes à musique, automates ou orchestrions.

Les frères Baud travaillent simultanément dans leur atelier de mécanique de précision où ils réparent de grandes pièces de musique mécanique. Passionnés, ils s’intéressent à tout objet comportant de la musique mécanique, y compris les automates les plus variés, si bien qu’ils aménagent leur collection dans leur écurie et leur grange transformées en musée. Savoir-faire et oreille musicale sont nécessaires pour identifier les notes disparues sur un rouleau mécanique. Leur talent pour la mécanique est connu loin à la ronde, et aujourd’hui encore on vient du monde entier pour leur confier des pièces rares à réparer.

L’inscription à l’UNESCO, depuis le 16 décembre 2020, met en valeur une tradition vivante emblématique de l’Arc jurassien franco-suisse. Elle trouve une résonnance toute particulière dans la région de Sainte-Croix / L’Auberson, seul lieu à réunir aussi bien les boîtes à musique que les automates et l’horlogerie. La candidature portée par la Suisse en collaboration avec la France a été considérée comme exemplaire par l’UNESCO pour sa mise en évidence de l’importance du patrimoine culturel immatériel dans un espace transfrontalier.

Prix

Prix
  • Individuel

    Adulte

    • CHF 12.-
  • Enfant

    • CHF 6.-
  • Groupe (dès 20 pers.)

    • CHF 10.-

Bon à savoir

Bon à savoir
    • Durée de la visite environ 1 heure, toutes les visites sont guidées (sans inscription préalable (sauf pour les groupes), pas d’heure fixe de visite).
    • Vistes guidées tous les jours à 14h et 15h30
    • Ouvert sur demande dès 10 adultes.

Accès

Zugang

Contact

Contact