Nature

Le Vallon des Vaux

Le Vallon des Vaux
Le Vallon des Vaux. © claudejaccard.com

    The Vallon des Vaux, a true natural canyon, takes the hiker to the pleasantly shaded undergrowth up to the St. Martin Tower, the only evidence of an important mediaeval community. The trail offers a diverse landscape as well as a sumptuous panorama of the lake and the Jura mountains.

    Departing from Yvonand, the Vallon des Vaux constitutes a true haven of peace for hikers. The trails alongside refreshing small rivers, takes the walker to interesting natural and cultural discoveries.

    Long ago, the creeks of Vaux and Flonzel had shaped the steeply rising slopes. From the bottom of the rocky gorges the route winds up alongside the cliffs and leads to the St. Martin Tower, the only evidence of the seigneury of St-Martin-du-Chêne, one of the most important mediaeval seigneuries.

    A visit to the Chêne-Pâquier Church is very worthwhile. Built in 1667, it is an extremely rare example of protestant architecture in Switzerland.

    Add to my favorites
    Vallon des Vaux
    Vallon des Vaux

    Contact

    Contact
    Le Vallon des Vaux
    Open Google Maps

Nature

Le Vallon des Vaux

Le Vallon des Vaux
Le Vallon des Vaux. © claudejaccard.com

    Le Vallon des Vaux, véritable canyon naturel, emmène le marcheur dans ses sous-bois agréablement ombragés jusqu’à la Tour St-Martin, seul indice d’une importante bourgade moyenâgeuse. Le sentier offre une diversité de paysage ainsi qu'un somptueux panorama sur le lac et le Jura.

    Au départ d’Yvonand, le Vallon des Vaux constitue un véritable havre de paix pour les promeneurs. Ses sentiers, en bordure de petites rivières rafraichissantes, emmènent le marcheur vers de belles découvertes, tant naturelles que culturelles.

    Ce sont les ruisseaux des Vaux et du Flonzel qui ont façonnés ses versants abrupts. Du fond des gorges, l’itinéraire remonte le long des falaises et débouche vers la Tour St-Martin, seule rescapée de la seigneurie de St-Martin-du-Chêne, l'une des plus importantes seigneuries au Moyen Age.

    Une visite de l’église de Chêne-Pâquier vaut le détour. Construite en 1667, elle représente le témoin rarissime de l’architecture protestante en Suisse.

    Ajouter à mes favoris
    Le Vallon des Vaux
    Le Vallon des Vaux

    Contact

    Contact
    Le Vallon des Vaux
    Ouvrir avec Google Maps