Event − Concerts, Music

10th Symphony Concert


  • Place
    • Biel/Bienne

Yannis Pouspourikas and the Biel-Solothurn Symphony Orchestra invite you to an exciting end to the season with a brand new programme featuring the "Lustspiel" overture by the great Swiss Romantic Hans Huber, the violin concerto in D minor by Jean Sibelius with our concertmaster Vladyslava Luchenko as violin soloist, and excerpts from Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy's dazzling incidental music to Shakespeare's "A Midsummer Night's Dream". Then comes the highlight of the season: the performance of the overture to Georges Bizet's opera "Carmen" with the help of the participants in the "Toutes et tous en scène!" project and the Ensemble des jeunes de la Musique de la Ville de Bienne (JUBIS).

Hans Huber: "Lustspiel-Ouvertüre" in E major, Op. 50
Jean Sibelius: Concerto for violin and orchestra in D minor op. 47 (Soloist: Vladyslava Luchenko)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Suite from the incidental music to "A Midsummer Night's Dream" op. 61
Georges Bizet: Overture to the opera "Carmen", with audience participation

Introduction 30 minutes before the concert. The concert will be followed by a Late Night Lounge in the café-bar of the Palais des Congrès.

Collaboration with JUBIS (Ensemble des jeunes de la Musique de la ville de Bienne)

Information transmitted via the culturoscoPe

Opening hours
Opening hours
  • The 14 Jun 2023
  • Wednesday
    • 19:30
Links & PDFs
Links & PDFs
10th Symphony Concert
Open Google Maps